7 worst habits of workaholics

It has been around 2 years since I joined the IT industry. For the first 10 months, I was really bored as I didn’t have much of work. Then, I started to get frustrated coz I felt I wasn’t given the amount and quality of work for which I was getting paid.

But, it was only since April this year that I got some real responsibilities. Then, I got power and I was satisfied. Slowly, I got more power and more responsibilities, and I was happy. Gradually, I became a workaholic.

It was only since the last 1 month that I started getting sick. I was hospitalized for about 2 weeks. Then, I made this research to find what went wrong. The following are the 7 worst habits of workaholics:

1. Forgetting to relax

 While some stress can be good because it keeps you alert and motivated, too much stress or chronic stress will take its toll on your body.

2. Eating on the go

Between meetings, conference calls and deadlines, workaholics forget to take out time to sit down for a healthy lunch. But a good meal is exactly what a person needs to stay mentally sharp throughout the day.

3. Putting off sleep for work

Even busy professionals need seven to nine hours of sleep every night. Missing out on sleep can lead to irritability, difficulty concentrating, memory problems and poor judgment. It has also been linked to obesity.

4. Not making time for exercise

Getting at least 30 minutes of exercise most days is very important to immediate and future health.

5. Working even when sick

Many people come to work despite being ill. But there are three common sense reasons to stay home — nobody wants your germs, you’ll be less productive and you need your rest to get better.

6. Drinking (too much)

Excessive drinking can lead to alcoholism, liver disease and some forms of cancer.

7. Skipping annual medical check-ups

In order to detect problems early, prevent others from developing and get the best treatment if you have a condition, you need to know what’s going on in your body.

Although, I had taken care of the last 3 points; I am yet to take care of the first 4. Once I take care of all 7 of these, I guess, I can call myself a healthy workaholic.

About theultimaterenaissance

I am an Engineer and a Management Graduate. I love writing poetry and research reports on cars. Surfing, listening to music, and Reading and writing Technical & Research papers are among my most savored hobbies.
This entry was posted in Research and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 7 worst habits of workaholics

  1. Pingback: Worst Habits of the Indian Workaholic « Suman Das’ Blog

Leave a Reply

